Published on May 10, 2017

Women’s Cycling Greats Will Compete in the Four-Day Stage Race Beginning Thursday in South Lake Tahoe

LOS ANGELES, Calif. (May 10, 2017) – Amgen Tour of California organizer AEG announced rosters for the 2017 Amgen Breakaway from Heart Disease™ Women’s Race empowered with SRAM. With its second year on the UCI Women’s WorldTour and one of the biggest platforms in the world for women’s cycling, the field is flush with National Champions and Olympians.

Featuring 17 teams of six cyclists, the women will face off over a 256.6-mile course during the four-stage event. The riders will compete May 11 and 12 in South Lake Tahoe, travel from Elk Grove to Sacramento on May 13, and conclude with a Sacramento circuit race May 14 as the Amgen Tour of California 7-stage men’s race gets underway. The Amgen Breakaway from Heart Disease™ Women’s Race empowered with SRAM welcomes the international field including:

  • The Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team will bring the star power of three-time U.S. National Champion and reigning race champion Megan Guarnier and Anna van der Breggen (NED). Guarnier, who is based in the Bay Area, finished 2016 leading the UCI rankings just ahead of van der Breggen, who won gold in the women’s road race and followed with bronze in the time trial at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.
  • Team Sunweb’s Coryn Rivera (Tustin, Calif.) has racked up two UCI Women’s WorldTour victories in only her first season racing on the tour.  
  • After a near career-ending injury from a crash last year, Canyon/SRAM Racing’s 2015 race champion Trixi Worrack (GER) will return for another go at the win.
  • Cylance Pro Cycling rider Alison Tetrick, who hails from Petaluma, Calif., has competed in the California race every year since 2011.
  • Rally Cycling’s Kelly Catlin (Minneapolis, Minn.) recently captured gold at the 2017 UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Hong Kong, and teammate Kirsti Lay returns to California after earning bronze last summer in Rio.
  • Race veteran Kristin Armstrong, a three-time Olympic gold medalist (2008, 2012 and 2016), will join the race in a new role this year as a Race Ambassador.

Favorites in popular categories include:

General Classification (Overall Contenders)

  • Lex Albrecht (CAN) – Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank (TIB)
  • Megan Guarnier (USA) – Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team (DLT)
  • Katie Hall (USA) – UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team (UHC)
  • Lauren Stephens (USA) – Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank (TIB)
  • Tayler Wiles (USA) – UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team (UHC)
  • Ruth Winder (USA) – UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team (UHC)
  • Anna van der Breggen (NED) – Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team (DLT)
  • Trixi Worrack (GER) – Canyon/SRAM Racing (LPR)


  • Erica Allar (USA) – Rally Cycling (RLW)
  • Hannah Barnes (GBR) – Canyon/SRAM Racing (LPR)
  • Giorgia Bronzini (ITA) – Wiggle High5 Pro Cycling (WHT)
  • Amy Cure (AUS) – Wiggle High5 Pro Cycling (WHT)
  • Megan Guarnier (USA) – Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team (DLT)
  • Peta Mullens (AUS) – Hagens Berman | Supermint (HBS)
  • Coryn Rivera (USA) – Team Sunweb (SUN)
  • Skylar Schneider (USA) – US National Team (USA)
  • Leah Thomas (USA) – Sho-Air TWENTY20 (T20)
  • Kirsten Wild (NED) – Cylance Pro Cycling (CPC)


  • Lex Albrecht (CAN) – Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank (TIB)
  • Kristabel Doebel-Hickok (USA) – Cylance Pro Cycling (CPC)
  • Katie Hall (USA) – UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team (UHC)
  • Abigail Mickey (USA) – Team Colavita | Bianchi (CVB)
  • Flávia Oliveira (BRA) – Lares-Waowdeals Women Cycling Team (LWD)
  • Lauren Stephens (USA) – Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank (TIB)

Stage Wins

  • Lex Albrecht (CAN) – Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank (TIB)
  • Kelly Catlin (USA) – Rally Cycling (RLW)
  • Megan Guarnier (USA) – Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team (DLT)
  • Kirsti Lay (USA) – Rally Cycling (RLW)
  • Katerina Nash (CZE) – Team Illuminate (ILU)
  • Samantha Schneider (USA) – US National Team (USA)
  • Lauren Stephens (USA) – Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank (TIB)
  • Alison Tetrick (USA) – Cylance Pro Cycling (CPC)
  • Anna van der Breggen (NED) – Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team (DLT)
  • Emma White (USA) – Rally Cycling (RLW)

About the Amgen Tour of California
The Amgen Tour of California is a Tour de France-style cycling road race created and presented by AEG that challenges the world's top professional cycling teams to compete along a demanding course that traverses hundreds of miles of California's iconic highways, byways and coastlines each spring. The teams chosen to participate have included Olympic medalists, Tour de France contenders and World Champions. Amgen Tour of California is listed on the international professional cycling calendar (2 HC, meaning "beyond category"), awarding important, world-ranking points to the top finishers. More information is available at

The first-ever U.S. UCI WorldTour course will cover more than 583 miles through 12 Host Cities May 14-20, including Sacramento, Modesto, San Jose, Pismo Beach, Morro Bay, Santa Barbara, Santa Clarita, Ontario, Mt. Baldy, Big Bear Lake, Mountain High and Pasadena. The Amgen Breakaway from Heart DiseaseTM Women's Race empowered with SRAM May 11-14 will cover 256.6 miles through South Lake Tahoe, Elk Grove and Sacramento, concluding as the men’s race gets underway.

About Amgen
Amgen is committed to unlocking the potential of biology for patients suffering from serious illnesses by discovering, developing, manufacturing and delivering innovative human therapeutics. This approach begins by using tools like advanced human genetics to unravel the complexities of disease and understand the fundamentals of human biology.

Amgen focuses on areas of high unmet medical need and leverages its expertise to strive for solutions that improve health outcomes and dramatically improve people's lives. A biotechnology pioneer since 1980, Amgen has grown to be one of the world's leading independent biotechnology companies, has reached millions of patients around the world and is developing a pipeline of medicines with breakaway potential.

For more information, visit and follow us on

About AEG
Headquartered in Los Angeles, California, AEG is the world's leading sports venue and live entertainment company. With offices on five continents, AEG operates in the following business segments: AEG Facilities, which is affiliated with or owns, manages or consults with more than 120 preeminent arenas, stadiums, theaters, clubs and convention centers around the world including The O2 Arena, the Sprint Center and the Mercedes-Benz Arenas; AEG Live, which is dedicated to all aspects of live contemporary music performances, including producing and promoting global and regional concert tours, music and special events and world-renowned festivals; AEG Real Estate, which develops world-class venues, as well as major sports and entertainment districts like STAPLES Center and L.A. LIVE; AEG Sports, which is the world's largest operator of sports franchises and high-profile sporting events; and AEG Global Partnerships, which oversees worldwide sales and servicing of sponsorships including naming rights, premium seating and other strategic partnerships. Through its worldwide network of venues, portfolio of powerful sports and music brands and its integrated entertainment districts, AEG entertains more than 100 million guests annually. More information about AEG can be found at

#  #  #


Media Contacts:

Michael Roth, AEG

Josh Levitt, Canvas Blue