Published on May 5, 2015
Field Features World and National Champions

{icon icon="icon-file-pdf"}Download Women's Team Roster (PDF)

LOS ANGELES (May 5, 2015) - An unparalleled list of riders is preparing to compete in the unprecedented three-day women's road race as part of the 2015 Amgen Tour of California. In addition to the invitational time trial competitors announced earlier [insert link], the 84 cyclists representing 14 teams will kick off the women's road race May 8 in South Lake Tahoe, concluding in Sacramento May 10 as the men begin their 8-day event (full team rosters attached).

Celebrating its 10th year, the Amgen Tour of California is the most esteemed stage race in the U.S. and one of the most important on the international calendar. The field will include several champions including: Lisa Brennauer, Velocio-SRAM, the current individual and team time trial World Champion and current German road and time trial National Champion; Ana Teresa Casas, Mexico National Team, current Mexico road National Champion; Karol-Ann Canuel, Velocio-SRAM, current team time trial World Champion and Leah Kirchmann, Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies current Canadian road, time trial and criterium champion. The women's race, empowered with SRAM, is in its eighth year and has grown to include four days of racing for the first time.

"We've always been committed to expanding opportunities for women cyclists at the Amgen Tour of California," said Kristin Bachochin Klein, executive director of the Amgen Tour of California and senior vice president of AEG Sports. "The women's team rosters this year reflect the immense talent in the sport today, and we're extremely excited to help provide these incredible athletes with an international platform and fan base."

Favorites for podium finishes during the women's race include:

General Classification (Overall Contenders) 

  • Allie Dragoo (USA), Twenty16 p/b Sho-Air
  • Dalia Muccioli (ITA), Alé-Cipollini
  • Emily Collins (NZL), Team TIBCO-SVB
  • Katie Hall (USA), UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team
  • Lauren Stephens (USA), Team TIBCO-SVB
  • Leah Kirchmann (CAN), Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies
  • Lex Albrecht (CAN) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies
  • Lisa Brennauer (GER), Velocio-SRAM


  • Erica Allar (USA), Colavita|Bianchi p/b Fine Cooking
  • Hannah Barnes (GBR), UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team
  • Leah Kirchmann (CAN), Optum p/b Kelly Benefits Strategies
  • Miranda Griffiths (AUS), BMW p/b Happy Tooth Dental
  • Barbara Guarischi (ITA), Velocio-SRAM


  • Karol-Ann Canuel (CAN), Velocio-SRAM
  • Lauren Stephens (USA), Team TIBCO-SVB
  • Lex Albrecht (CAN) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies
  • Maria Carla Alvarez (ARG), Xirayas de San Luis

Stage Wins

  • Alison Tetrick (USA), Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies
  • Linda Melanie Villumsen (NZL), UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team
  • Meredith Miller (USA), Pepper Palace Pro Cycling p/b The Happy Tooth
  • Sarah Storey (GBR), Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International

Fans can cheer on these world-class athletes on the racecourse May 8-10, with the time trial following May 16, or catch the action with the free Amgen Tour of California app for tablets and mobile devices. More information on ways to watch is available at

For further information about the Amgen Tour of California women's races and to experience the race like never before with VIP Access, please visit

About the Amgen Tour of California
The Amgen Tour of California is a Tour de France-style cycling road race created and presented by AEG that challenges the world's top professional cycling teams to compete along a demanding course that traverses hundreds of miles of California's iconic highways, byways and coastlines each spring. The teams chosen to participate have included Olympic medalists, Tour de France contenders and World Champions. Amgen Tour of California is listed on the international professional cycling calendar (2 HC, meaning "beyond category"), awarding important, world-ranking points to the top finishers. More information is available at

This year, the men's course will traverse more than 700 miles and wind through 13 host cities, including Sacramento, Nevada City, Lodi, San Jose, Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Santa Barbara, Santa Clarita, Big Bear Lake, Ontario, Mt. Baldy, L.A. LIVE (Downtown Los Angeles) and Pasadena. The women's three-day stage race will travel more than 150 miles through South Lake Tahoe and Sacramento, followed by a 15-mile Invitational Time Trial in Big Bear Lake.

About Amgen
Amgen is committed to unlocking the potential of biology for patients suffering from serious illnesses by discovering, developing, manufacturing and delivering innovative human therapeutics. This approach begins by using tools like advanced human genetics to unravel the complexities of disease and understand the fundamentals of human biology.

Amgen focuses on areas of high unmet medical need and leverages its biologics manufacturing expertise to strive for solutions that improve health outcomes and dramatically improve people's lives. A biotechnology pioneer since 1980, Amgen has grown to be one of the world's leading independent biotechnology companies, has reached millions of patients around the world and is developing a pipeline of medicines with breakaway potential.

About AEG
AEG is one of the leading sports and entertainment presenters in the world. AEG, a wholly owned subsidiary of The Anschutz Company, owns or controls a collection of companies including facilities such as STAPLES Center, StubHub Center, Sprint Center, The O2, Nokia Theatre L.A. LIVE and Best Buy Theater Times Square; sports franchises including the Stanley Cup Champion LA Kings (NHL), two Major League Soccer franchises, two hockey franchises operated in Europe, management of privately held shares of the Los Angeles Lakers the Amgen Tour of California cycling road race; AEG Live, the organization's live-entertainment division, is a collection of companies dedicated to all aspects of live contemporary music performance, touring and a variety of programming and multi-media production. For more information, visit AEG today at

Media Contacts:

Michael Roth, AEG

Eileen Tanner, Golin

Diana Valdez, Golin